Banaras Hindu University

Banaras Hindu University also referred as BHU. It is a public central university situated in Varanasi, established by Pandit Madan Mohan Malviya in the year 1916. It is one of the best and largest universities in Asia having over 20,000 students.

BHU UET 2015BHU PET 2015BHU SCS 2015

The campus area is over 1,300 acres was built on land donated by the Kashi Naresh. He was the hereditary ruler of Benares. It has 4 institutes and 14 colleges. It provides entry to the students of over 34 nations. It has over 60 hostels. A variety of colleges includes engineering (IIT-BHU), science, linguistics, journalism & mass communication, performing arts, law, agriculture (IAS-BHU), medicine (IMS-BHU) and management (FMS). There is a Department of French Studies also.


Statue of Pandit Madan Mohan Malviya is situated at the entry gate of Banaras Hindu University.

In the 21st Conference of Indian National Congress held in Benares in the year 1905, Malviya announced in the public to establish a big university in Banaras. Finally he published university in 1911. He focused on the technology and science, besides the study of India’s religion and culture because of the poverty in India and less as compared to Europeans.

Malviya had also supported Annie Besant in the year 1903 and he had raised 250,000 Rupees in donations to finance the Besant’s college hostel construction. Malviya met Besant in 1911 and they decided to unite their force in order to build BHU.

Malviya took support from the Kashi Naresh and Maharaja of Darbhanga. Finally, in Oct 1915 the Banaras Hindu University Bill was passed by the Imperial Legislative Council and it was established in the year 1916 as the first university in India just because of a private individual’s efforts. Dr. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar composed a Kulgeet known as the university anthem. BHU is located at the southern edge of Varanasi near about banks of the River Ganges. BHU has over 60 hostels for over 12,000 students.

The Sayaji Rao Gaekwad Library known as the main library in campus and it is named after Maharaja Sayajirao Gaekwad because he was financed for the construction of the library.

Sir Sundarlal Hospital is located in BHU campus. It is a teaching hospital for the Institute of Medical Sciences. It was established in the year 1926 with just 96 beds and now it is over 900 beds.

Bharat Kala Bhavan located in the campus known as an art and archaeological museum. It has collection of Indian paintings, archaeological artefacts, Indian philately, textiles and costumes, literary and archival materials.


BHU has four institutes and fourteen departments for different languages. All the institutes are administratively autonomous with the own budget, management and academic bodies.


Indian Institute of Technology

The IIT BHU Varanasi is an engineering institute of BHU with 13 departments and 3 inter-disciplinary schools. It was established in the year 1919 and oldest engineering institutes of India.

Institute of Agricultural Sciences

The Institute of Agricultural Sciences is the oldest institutions in India.

Institute of Medical Sciences

The Institute of Medical Sciences is a medical institute. It offers specializations and Ph.D. for physicians in medicine and surgery, graduate and post-graduate degree in Nursing, Ayurvedic medicine, Dentistry and Health Statistics.

Institute of Environment & Sustainable Development

This institute aims to develop and make advancement in the technology and processes for more development.


The Academic colleges of the university are:

  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Design
  • Faculty of Management Studies
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Performing Arts
  • Sanskrit Vidya Dharma Vijnan Sankaya
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Visual Arts
  • Mahila Maha Vidyalaya

Inter-disciplinary schools

School of Biotechnology

The School of Biotechnology is a center for research work and PG teaching under Faculty of Science of the BHU. It was established in the year 1986 and offers M.Sc. and Ph.D. degree in Biotechnology.

Interdisciplinary School of Life Sciences

It is a joint initiative of the Department of Biotechnology (DBT), established with a grant of Rs 238.9 million from the DBT.

Interdisciplinary Mathematical Sciences

It focuses on the research and education of the students in mathematics, modeling as well as statistics. It was established under Faculty of Science management. It imparts post-graduate education and research with the participation from Department of Mathematics, Physics, Faculty of Science and IIT-BHU Computer Science.

Centre of Food Science & Technology

It is the research centre with collaboration of Institute of Agricultural Sciences and the IIT BHU focusing on food processing technology.

Research centers

BHU research centers include:

  • DBT Centre of Genetic Disorders
  • Center for Environmental Science and Technology
  • UGC Advanced Immunodiagnostic Training and Research Center
  • Centre for Experimental Medicine and Surgery
  • Nano science and Technology Center
  • Center for Rural Integrated Development
  • Centre for Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy (CSSEIP)
  • Center for the Study of Nepal (CNS)
  • Malviya Center for Peace Research (MCPR)
  • Hydrogen Energy Center
  • Center for Women’s Studies and Development (CWSD)

Affiliated schools and colleges



Library system

BHU Library system was established from a donation by Prof. P.K. Telang in the memory of his father in 1917. The collection was housed in the Telang Hall of the Central Hindu College, Kamachha. In 1921, the library was set up near to the Faculty of Arts.

The Central Library of BHU was built on the pattern of the British Library and established from donation of Maharaja Sayajirao Gaekwad III of Baroda. It is a Manuscript Conservation Centre of the National Mission for Manuscripts.


Banaras Hindu University conducts entrance exams for the national level undergraduate and postgraduate in the month of May–June. Whole admissions depend on the merit lists of entrance tests. Admissions to B.Tech./B.Pharm., M.Tech./M.Pharm are done through JEE and GATE exams, MBA and MIBA through IIM-CAT score, PhD through NET and etc.

BHU provides admission to foreign students as well. Foreign students have to submit application to the Indian mission in his/her country. BHU was ranked 2nd in India and Top 50 Universities of 2012.

The first administrator of BHU was Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, who became the President of India. Other famous administrators of BHU are Sir Sunder Lal, K. L. Shrimali, Moti Lal Dhar and many others.

The famous alumni of Banaras Hindu University are Harivansh Rai Bachchan, Ahmad Hasan Dani, Jayant Vishnu Narlikar, Basanti Dulal Nagchaudhuri, Bhupen Hazarika, Ashok Agarwal, Kota Harinarayana, Manick Sorcar, Robert M. Pirsig and Koenraad Elst.

Banaras Hindu University